The Church of the Savior on the Spilled Blood
The Church of the Savior on the Spilled Blood in St Petersburg is an Orthodox single-throne cathedral in the name of Christ’s Resurrection that was built as a memorial in the place where Tsar Alexander II was deadly wounded in an assassination on March 1, 1881 (the expression in blood refers to the Tsar’s blood).
The cathedral was erected as a memorial to the Tsar-martyr using the contributions that were collected all over Russia. It is located in the historical centre of St Petersburg on the bank of Griboyedova Channel, near the Michailovskij Garden and the Square Konyshennaya, next to the Field of Mars. The height of the nine-dome temple is 81 m; its capacity is 1600 people.
The cathedral is a museum and monument of Russian architecture.
It was built under the order of Emperor Alexander III; it was designed by architect Alfred Parland and archimandrite Ignatii (Malishev) who later left the construction. It was done in „Russian style” and slightly reminds the Vasilij Blazhenij Cathedral in Moscow. The construction lasted 24 years. On August 6, 1907, on the Ascension Day, the temple was dedicated and opened for public.
In the centre of the temple composition is a compact square that is crowned with 5-dome roof; in the very centre there is a tent that is 81 m high. Altogether the cathedral has 9 domes that create a picturesque asymmetrical group; some of them are covered with gold and some are covered with enamel.
On the wall of the eight-faceted tent there are eight elongated windows with jambs in the form of Russian folk head ornament. The tent grows narrow at the top; it has eight little openings there. The tent is topped by a lantern decorated with a little dome and a cross. The dome has white, yellow and green stripes that are winding around it. There are four domes around the tent creating a symmetrical composition. All four domes are covered with colour enamel and drawings. These domes are placed on drum-like bases that are smaller in diameter than the domes. At the western side of the cathedral there is a campanile topped with a dome that makes it similar to the campanile of Ivan the Great in Moscow Kremlin. The campanile has eight arches with columns in between. The other three domes that are smaller in size are on the extensions at the eastern part of the cathedral.
On the inside of the cathedral you find a real museum of mosaic that take up 7 065 square meters. Mosaic was created in the studio of V.A. Frolov using the sketches of more than 30 artists; among them also V.M. Vasnetsov, M.B. Nesterov, A.P. Ryabushkin, V.V. Beliayev, and N.N. Harlamov. The exposition of mosaic in the cathedral of Salvation-in-Blood is one of the largest collections in Europe.
How to get there:
Metro: station “Nevskij prospect"
Address: Griboyedova channel, 2а